ARC The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

cover86524-medium.png

Expected Publication: January 3, 2017

Description:

Hawthorn wasn’t trying to insert herself into a missing person’s investigation. Or maybe she was. But that’s only because Lizzie Lovett’s disappearance is the one fascinating mystery their sleepy town has ever had. Bad things don’t happen to popular girls like Lizzie Lovett, and Hawthorn is convinced she’ll turn up at any moment—which means the time for speculation is now.

So Hawthorn comes up with her own theory for Lizzie’s disappearance. A theory way too absurd to take seriously…at first. The more Hawthorn talks, the more she believes. And what better way to collect evidence than to immerse herself in Lizzie’s life? Like getting a job at the diner where Lizzie worked and hanging out with Lizzie’s boyfriend. After all, it’s not as if he killed her—or did he?

Told with a unique voice that is both hilarious and heart-wrenching, Hawthorn’s quest for proof may uncover the greatest truth is within herself.

IMG_0045 - Copy (2).PNG

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett is a book that in its goodness and awesomeness it left me speechless. It left me pensive and brooding and happy and weirdly satisfied.

But still I will try to do this book justice by giving this review though I think my thoughts will be scattered and won’t be that much cohesive. So here it is.

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett is a book for weirdos, loners, outcasts, and the people who have never really found their place in this world because they haven’t realized the beauty and magic of their own selves yet, which could be with other people or just on their own. And that’s okay.

Before this book came into my life (a little dramatic but I feel so much affinity with Hawthorn and she is dramatic so… yeah), I can pretty much say that I am comfortable being me. It is okay for me that not much people can relate to and tolerate my quirks (read: mood swings, bitchiness). It is okay for me that I may not have a lot of friends but at least I have a few that get me and love me just the way I am, nothing more nothing less. But with this book, I had the reassurance I didn’t know I needed. Yes, I might be okay with these things but it was also nice to read about someone who goes through the same things as I do.

I am thankful for this book because it reassured me that the way I am is the best version of me and I shouldn’t try to be somebody else. I am me and that is more than enough.

It was eerie how Hawthorn Creely could be me. It was weird that while reading the book I could totally see myself doing the things she was doing, good or bad. I cringe in solidarity with Hawthorn as she makes faux pas, something that I also do during family gatherings or pretty much every day. I nod in understanding as she jumps into conclusions and overthink things. I can relate to wishing bad things to other people though the difference is that while Hawthorn only wishes for not-that-awful things, I wish for blood. Haha.

Hawthorne is also a big reader! Here is a part that made my heart pinch:

                I knew all about reading a lot. About how it could take you to a world that was better than the real one. A world where there were adventures and mysteries and magic. Except, of course, books ended eventually, and then you had to go back to being yourself.

Hawthorn and I are both faced with the mystery that is social interaction. We would like to be with people but we push them away. I really love that part where she said this:

Maybe it was my own fault that I didn’t have a real boyfriend. Or friends. Or a social life. Maybe I should have been putting myself out there instead of waiting for people to come to me.

The inspiring and motivating things in The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett would be what my more-mature-and-smarter self would tell me now. This book just… gets me.

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett is a book that I cannot recommend enough. Click pre-order now!

https://www.amazon.com/Hundred-Lies-Lizzie-Lovett/dp/1492636088

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-hundred-lies-of-lizzie-lovett-chelsea-sedoti/1123657536

http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781492636083

http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Hundred-Lies-Lizzie-Lovett/Chelsea-Sedoti/9781492636083

img_0045-copy-5IMG_0047 - Copy (4)

IMG_0128 - Copy.PNG

Everyone.

Leave a Reply

